Meet my healthy friend Lilly Liver.

Your not afraid of some Liver, are you?
Your not afraid of some liver, are you?

Wow, A lot has happened in the last 6+ months!

We got married.

I finally took the leap and joined Crossfit.

I decided on a long term career path that is a great juxtaposition of many of my interests.

I did a Spartan Race.

All while working a very stressful job that if it wasn’t for some SUPER DUPER positive and fun co-workers would be a bit more then I could handle.

To be honest that is why I have found it so hard to blog any thing any more. It takes a lot to deal with stuff sometimes . . . but I am hoping I might be able to get back to some recipes and other stuffs.

On THAT note here is how after YEARS of a complete hatred of liver I have been able to find a way to eat it almost daily.

Liver
Liver is my new Friend!

Are you ready . . . I add other good stuff until I cannot taste it.  Brilliant RIGHT?? OK, here is how I do it.

  • 1 lb of liver (you decide on the kind, this is beef)
  • 1 lb of some other grass fed meat.
  • 2 Eggs
  • 1 to 2 Cups of a sauce you like. I buy a Green Harissa Sauce Or a Chili Pepper Garlic sauce from a local Mediterranean market. Personally for me, the spicier then better.

First, I pan fry the liver. Yes, it will smell like liver. I tried and could not find a way to totally knock out the smell.

Do you smell that??

Then I stick it in a food processor and mix until it is paste like. If you don’t have a food processor, dice it into small (as small as you can) bits. I then add the other uncooked meat, the sauce and mix well ( I used the green sauce here). Be sure to scrap the bowl so everything gets evenly mixed.

Now spoon the mixture out in whatever quantity and shape you like. Fry this mixture until it’s at the level of cooked you like. I like the outside to be crispy. You just want to make sure the other meat gets cooked also. In the picture above, I made little patties and dressed it with some basil from my garden. Some fat in the pan will help it to not stick. Because it has a paste like consistency it can be very hard to do meatballs. Trust me, I tried it, it was just way to sticky and that is why they look like smashed meatballs ;o).

But why eat Liver? How about all these nutrients versus regular red meat??

RED MEAT (3.5 oz) BEEF LIVER (3.5 oz)
Calcium 11.0 mg 11.0 mg
Phosphorus 140.0 mg 476.0 mg
Magnesium 15.0 mg 18.0 mg
Potassium 370.0 mg 380.0 mg
Iron 3.3 mg 8.8 mg
Zinc 4.4 mg 4.0 mg
Copper .18 mg 12.0 mg
Vitamin A 40 IU 53,400 IU
Vitamin D Trace 19 IU
Vitamin E 1.7 mg .63 mg
Vitamin C None 27.0 mg
Thiamin .05 mg .26 mg
Riboflavin .20 mg 4.19 mg
Niacin 4.0 mg 16.5 mg
Pantothenic Acid .42 mg 8.8 mg
Vitamin B6 .07 mg .73 mg
Folic Acid 4.0 mcg 145.0 mcg
Biotin 2.08 mcg 96.0 mcg
Vitamin B12 1.84 mcg 111.3 mcg

OK, I hope this helps!! Feel free to offer suggestions or comments.

Rona

Leave a Reply

